Association of Fundraising Professionals Southern Colorado Chapter

Creating a vibrant community of professionals in Southern Colorado

Newsletter Sign Up

Outstanding Emerging Fundraising Professional Award

About This Award

The AFP Southern Colorado Chapter has initiated this award to recognize a fundraising professional in the emerging phase of his or her career who exemplifies the best traits and characteristics of our profession. The Inaugural Award was presented in 2009.

2016 Winner

Erica Oakley-CourageErica Oakley-Courage
Development Director, Palmer Land Trust

Erica Oakley-Courage is the Development Director at Palmer Land Trust, a position she has held since April of 2015 that allows her to play a part in protecting what she loves best about southern Colorado – the land. Prior to that, she worked as the Corporate Market Director at the American Heart Association, overseeing the Go Red For Women Education Day & Luncheon and the Heart & Stroke Walk.

The Seattle native earned a degree from Western Washington University in Journalism/Public Relations and spent six years working in professional sports before transferring to the world of non-profit.

Erica is very involved in the local community, serving on the Board of Peak Vista Community Health Centers and as the Chair of the Philanthropy Advisory Committee. She also volunteers as Chair of the Girl Scouts of Colorado Regional Engagement Committee and on the Colorado Springs Osteopathic Foundation Engagement Committee. Erica is a member of the Institute for Leaders in Development’s Class of 2017.

In her free time, Erica loves to be outside hiking, running and gardening, trash talking with her Fantasy Football league, or hosting dinner and game night for friends.

Previous Winners

 2015 winner: Kelly Shelton, Manager of Philanthropy, Space Foundation
 2014 winner: Lori Jarvis-Steinwert, Executive Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness
 2013 winner: Donna Gibson, Director of Individual Giving, Care and Share Food Bank
 2012 winner: Monica Carruth, Development Officer, Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) - Pueblo
 2011 winner: Christi-Marie Butler, Director of Development, Colorado College
 2010 winner: Kristen McGee, Director of Communications and Development, Northern Churches Cares
Inaugural 2009 winner: 
Erin Taylor, Director of Development, Partners In Housing

AFPSoCo Logo
© AFP Southern Colorado

P.O. Box 231
Colorado Springs, CO 80901

How can we help?
Connect with us
on social media!

facebook    Linked In
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software