AFP SoCo Home
Association of Fundraising Professionals Southern Colorado Chapter

Creating a vibrant community of professionals in Southern Colorado

Newsletter Sign Up

Outstanding Fundraising Executive Award

About This Award

Each year, AFP honors individuals who, through their hard work and dedication, have enhanced philanthropy in their communities and the world.  The Outstanding Fundraising Executive award spotlights those fundraisers who have done just this.

2017 Winner

2017 Outstanding Fundraising ExecutiveJoan Selman
Executive Director
Pikes Peak Hospice Foundation

Joan began fundraising for Pikes Peak Hospice Foundation in 2002, where she is responsible for securing donations for annual giving, special projects, general operating support and the capital needs of Pikes Peak Hospice & Palliative Care. She was named Director of the Foundation in 2006 and Executive Director in 2009. Ms. Selman holds a Masters degree in English. She is an active member in the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP), the Association of Healthcare Professionals (AHP), and the Colorado Planned Giving Roundtable (CPGR). Ms. Selman was a CPGR Fellow in 2010-11, and is a graduate of the 2009 Leadership Pikes Peak Signature Program. She serves as Vice Chair, Board of Directors at Catholic Charities of Central Colorado. Previous to her work in Colorado Springs, Joan worked in Chicago at the Museum of Science and Industry in the Development Department.

Previous Winners

 2016 winner: Sheila Ferguson, CFRE, Director of Development, The Resource Exchange
 2015 winner: Ron Rubin, Development Director for Major Gifts, The Memorial Hospital Foundation
 2014 winner: Gina Taranto, CFRE, Director of Development, Space Foundation
 2013 winner: Josh Bailey, CFRE, President, Penrose-St. Francis Health Foundation
 2012 winner: Janet Fieldman, CFRE, Chief Foundation Officer, Pueblo Community Health Center Foundation
 2011 winner: James K. Brozo, CFRE, CSPG, Vice President - Gift Planning, Penrose-St. Francis Health Foundation
 2010 winner: Brinah L. Vincent, CFRE
 2009 winner: Diane LeBlanc, CFRE, Former President & CDO, Penrose-St. Francis Health Foundation
 2008 winner: Thomas (Jay) Lowden, Vice President and Chief Development Officer, YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region
 2007 winner: Barbara Yalich - Lifetime Achievement Award
 2006 winner: Jeanne Conder, Vice President, Goodwill Industries Foundation
 2005 winner: Stephen Elder, Former Vice President for Advancement, Colorado College
 2004 winner: Kimberley Sherwood
 2003 winner: Jay Maloney, Chief Development Officer, Colorado College

AFPSoCo Logo
© AFP Southern Colorado

P.O. Box 231
Colorado Springs, CO 80901

How can we help?
Connect with us
on social media!

facebook    Linked In
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software