Log in

Outstanding Fundraising PROFESSIONAL Award

Leadership and Excellence

About This Award

Each year, AFP honors individuals who, through their hard work and dedication, have enhanced philanthropy in their communities and the world.  The Outstanding Fundraising Executive award spotlights those fundraisers who have done just this.

2020 Winner

Andy Petersen, Director of Development, The Place

Andy has been in resource development for over two decades, working in local, regional and international human service nonprofits. His passion is for donors to have a visceral connection with the mission they support. And to be in that space with a donor who gives from the heart and mind, he believes to be a truly sacred moment.

As a former board member and past president of the Southern Colorado Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, he was – and continues to be – an advocate for ethical and effective fundraising. Andy is blessed to be surround by people of exceptional character in the profession. He has found a “home” at The PLACE – an organization that serves youth experiencing homelessness.

Living in Southern Colorado since 2007, Andy has served on committees and at his church. His wife and two children have encouraged and supported his path in our profession. Together, they take every opportunity to breathe the fresh, rare air of our Colorado mountains and the wonderful people they encounter.

Regarding this award, Andy said, “I am deeply humbled to be selected for this award and I’m grateful for those with whom I serve in this profession. Thank you Debbie Swanson for the nomination that nearly moved me to tears. Thank you to the selection committee for this tremendous honor. I am a blessed man.”

Awards are sponsored by Incentive Marketing


 2020 winner: Andy Petersen, Development Director, The Place
 2019 winner: Crista Muchmore, Corporate Relations and Communications Officer, UCHealth Memorial Hospital Foundation
 2018 winner: Martin Wood, Senior Vice Chancellor for University Advancement and Development, University of Colorado Colorado Springs
 2017 winner: Joan Selman, Executive Director, Pikes Peak Hospice Foundation
 2016 winner: Sheila Ferguson, CFRE, Director of Development, The Resource Exchange
 2015 winner: Ron Rubin, Development Director for Major Gifts, The Memorial Hospital Foundation
 2014 winner: Gina Taranto, CFRE, Director of Development, Space Foundation
 2013 winner: Josh Bailey, CFRE, President, Penrose-St. Francis Health Foundation
 2012 winner: Janet Fieldman, CFRE, Chief Foundation Officer, Pueblo Community Health Center Foundation
 2011 winner: James K. Brozo, CFRE, CSPG, Vice President - Gift Planning, Penrose-St. Francis Health Foundation
 2010 winner: Brinah L. Vincent, CFRE
 2009 winner: Diane LeBlanc, CFRE, Former President & CDO, Penrose-St. Francis Health Foundation
 2008 winner: Thomas (Jay) Lowden, Vice President and Chief Development Officer, YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region
 2007 winner: Barbara Yalich - Lifetime Achievement Award
 2006 winner: Jeanne Conder, Vice President, Goodwill Industries Foundation
 2005 winner: Stephen Elder, Former Vice President for Advancement, Colorado College
 2004 winner: Kimberley Sherwood
 2003 winner: Jay Maloney, Chief Development Officer, Colorado College

AFP SOCO website

Contact Us:

AFP Southern Colorado Chapter
PO Box 231
Colorado Springs | CO 80901

CFRE approved provider
CFRE approved provider

Ten Star Chapter
2020 Ten Star Chapter

Ten Star logo
2021 Ten Star Chapter

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software